Surging Coronavirus Cases Push Latin America ‘to the Limit’

Antarctica is the one continent that has not reported any instances of the virus. In an effort to maintain it that approach, Antarctica New Zealand, the federal government company accountable for finishing up New Zealand’s actions on the continent, will reduce on analysis journeys.

The institute will help solely “long-term science monitoring, important operational exercise and deliberate upkeep this season in Antarctica,” it mentioned in a statement on Tuesday. The discount will decrease the variety of guests to the continent.

Antarctica shouldn’t be a rustic and is ruled by the Antarctic Treaty system, which got here into pressure in 1961. New Zealand is among the many international locations that operates a base there.

Antarctica New Zealand and different authorities businesses, the assertion mentioned, are making ready a “managed isolation plan” for the continent, which is basically remoted anyway, to ensure it stays freed from the virus.

“We acknowledge the influence this Covid-19 response may have on analysis this season, however these are unprecedented occasions,” Simon Trotter, the final supervisor of Antarctic operations for the institute, mentioned on Tuesday.

Reporting was contributed by Ian Austen, Ken Belson, Ronen Bergman, Aurelien Breeden, Choe Sang-Hun, Emily Cochrane, Michael Cooper, Maria Cramer, Abdi Latif Dahir, Reid J. Epstein, Jack Ewing, Richard Fausset, Sheri Fink, Jerry Garrett, Denise Grady, Anemona Hartocollis, Mike Ives, Lara Jakes, David D. Kirkpatrick, Aaron Krolik, John Leland, Antonio de Luca, Iliana Magra, Apoorva Mandavilli, Alex Marshall, Patricia Mazzei, Jesse McKinley, Raphael Minder, Paul Mozur, Norimitsu Onishi, Aimee Ortiz, Richard C. Paddock, Invoice Pennington, Elisabetta Povoledo, Suhasini Raj, Scott Reyburn, Jaspal Riyait, Rick Rojas, Kai Schultz, Jeanna Smialek, Kaly Soto, Matt Stevens, Alexandra Stevenson, Nikita Stewart, Katie Thomas, Anton Troianovski, Julie Turkewitz, David Waldstein, Karen Weise, Edward Wong, Jin Wu, Sameer Yasir, Ceylan Yeginsu, Raymond Zhong and Karen Zraick.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

0 0 0